3 Strand twists and Waistbeads!

Hey Guys!

Yes, it’s been a while, but now that I finally have a few days off from school until my hectic schedule resumes. I’ve been experimenting with new styles and been catching up on reading a few books as well as making waistbeads. This week I did a 3 strand twistout. For those of you who don’t know what a 3 strand twistout is, it’s twisting the hair with 3 sections. I really love the definition I get with this style. It reminds me of a finger coil or straw curl when separated.

IMG_20140826_102435_269

 

I’ve bought and completed Salt by Nayriaah Waheed. This is an amazing book I loved every page. For those of you who are interested the kindle version is currently on sale for $.99 GET IT! 

My new obsession is African waistbeads. After researching the history of them I decided to make some for myself. 

10611226_1547696485458436_440274045_n

 

The Story behind waistbeads is an amazing one I’d suggest reading it.

Here’s an exert: “Waist beads have a long history in Africa dating back to ancient Egypt and are worn for various reasons and purposes. They are a symbol and celebration of womanhood, sexuality, femininity, fertility, healing, spirituality, body shaping, first menses, protection, seduction, and wealth amongst other things. The meaning of the colors and different shapes of beads varies with every tribe and they can be thought of as a visual dialect. Each bead, color, and shape relays a different message depending on the receiver.”

Have you tried 3 strand twistout or do you wear wasistbeads? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for stopping by!

photo

 

3 thoughts on “3 Strand twists and Waistbeads!

  1. I have yet to try 3 strand twists/twist-out. Love your hair! And I LOVE the idea of a DIY waistbeads. I have a ton of beads for my jewelry so I have to read up more about them. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment